Harriers Season Draws to a Close

John Bell retained his title when he won the Bill Elder 10k road race in Greenock Glenpark Harriers final race of the 2016-17 season. He had made an early break from the main pack by the time he had left the Battery Park and headed towards the half-way turning point at the Custom House Quay clock tower – It was a lead the Inverclyde AC athlete was to extend to over two minutes.

Behind him David Tamburini and Steven Campbell were fighting it out to be top veteran, which saw David easing clear in the last kilometre, but Steven had the consolation of taking the trophy for the best placed Glenparker ahead of Andrew White.

Leading woman was Lorna Coyle who was a convincing winner ahead of Fiona Cushnaghan who recorded her quickest time for 4 years, and Sarah Whalen in 3rd.

In the veteran competition Mick McLoone, Graham McGrattan and Eddie Devine were best in the Over 50, 60 and 70 categories respectively.

Kenny Scott had a well-deserved victory in the Handicap race, but Paul Monaghan’s single point was enough to draw him level with Alan O’Rourke to share the seasons Handicap Champions title.

The Juniors got the evening underway with some impressive performances from the under11s in the 1km race around the Battery Park. Aidan McElwee with his now trade mark sprint finish was clear of debutant Nathan Adams and the improving Cameron Crawford. Maria McCabe’s win crowned her the under 11s 2016-17 Champion. Behind Maria was Madelaine McCabe who prevailed for the runner-up spot, but it was a close affair with just a ten seconds separating the 2nd to 5th placed girls.

After a year out with injury, it was a winning return for Alan Mollins in the 2km race.

A big thankyou to the race sponsor Judy Leslie-Carter of “with complements” massage therapies of Union Street. And to the marshals’ and timekeepers who endured the swarms of midges that descended on the park.

10Km: John Bell 32.22, David Tamburini 34.45, Steven Campbell 35.01, Shaun Gaffney 35.17, Andrew White 35.27, Mick McLoone 35.59, Jason Kane 36.14, Paul Monaghan 36.54, Andrew Osborne 37.18, Chris Watson 37.33, Daniel Doherty 37.51, John Stevenson 38.08, Shaun Marshall 38.18, Kevin O’Donoghue 38.57, Colin Morrison 39.11, Dillon Crawford 39.16, Danny McLaughlin 39.55, Joshua Ruddy 40.28, Graham McGrattan 40.40, Stewart Anderson 40.53, Brian McCluskey 40.55, George McCallum 41.06, Micky Dunn 41.12, Steven Watson 41.51, Stephen Hanley 41.56, James McFadden 42.47, David Ness 42.55, Stephen Reid 43.21, Gerry Gallacher 44.03, Stephen Smith 44.18, Robin McAuslan 44.52, Stuart Crawford 45.20, Colin Campbell 45.30, Jim Cuffe 45.47, Lorna Coyle 45.48, Malcolm McLean 46.02, Gerard Cooke 46.47, Frank McMahon 47.33, George Hegarty 47.48, Gerry Gillespie 48.48, Boyd McKenzie 49.05, Ian Hanley 49.42, Kenny Scott 49.55, Simon Hutton 50.28, Fiona Cushnaghan 50.45, Stuart Crawford 51.25, David Carruthers 51.35, Robert Rideout 51.59, Sarah Whalen 52.49, Claire Monaghan 53.21, Graeme Crawford 57.05, Grace Campbell 58.40, Viki Smith 58.42, Cindy Gavin 59.17, Eddie Devine 61.41,

1Km: Aidan McElwee 3.54, Nathan Adams 4.07, Cameron Crawford 4.11, Maria McCabe 4.13, Leo Beaton 4.24, Owen McElwee 4.34, Patrick McCabe 4.38, Madelaine McCabe 4.57, Francesca McKay 5.00, Ashlin Monaghan 5.04, Abbi Crawford 5.07, Finn McCabe 6.01, Jake McCabe 6.04, Logan O’Donoghue 6.10.

2Km: Alan Mollins 6.55, Ewan Ferguson 7.10, Scott Meechan 7.24, Cameron Patton 7.36,

Leave a Reply