Lyle Mile 2018

The second annual Lyle Mile hill race took place on New Year’s Day. The route took the runners from the bottom of Lyle Road at the railway bridge all the way up to the beacon at the peak of the Lyle Hill. 60 hardy runners took part in this year’s race, shaking off their hogmanay hangovers in the best way possible. The turnout was 8 more than last year, and we all hope the event continues to grow in popularity.


First to the top was Chris Mooney. The Glenpark Harrier has been in great form leading up to Christmas, and he shows no signs of slowing down in 2018. His time of 6.47 is the second fastest, behind John Bell’s 6.22 course record last year. Inverclyde’s Chris Barlas was second and Glenpark’s Andrew White was third.


The ladies race was won by Claire Thompson of Victoria Park in 8.44. She was followed by Laura Richie of Bellahouston Harriers in second and Ros Lawson in third position. Young Ava Beaton was first female Glenpark Harrier to the summit in a great time of 9.49, and she was one of many juniors who impressed on the day.

Some other notable runs came from youngsters like Glenpark’s U13s runner Jude Dolan, who came 13th overall in 8.20. A very well paced race from Jude who didn’t follow the large pack of juniors who sprinted the first 200m.

All money taken on the day went straight to charity. £160 was donated to Inverclyde Down’s Syndrome Support Group. A big thanks to Alison King for organising and to all the volunteers on the day for ensuring we had a successful and safe event.


Chris Mooney 6.47, Chris Barlas 6.54, Andrew White 7.06, Paul Monaghan 7.10, Dylan Crawford 7.12, Andy McCall 7.12, Mark Nightingale 7.23, Martin Power 7.43, Daniel Ashworth 7.44, Paul Beaton 7.55, John Stevenson 8.07, Richard Davidson 8.08, Jude Dolan 8.20, Steven Campbell 8.22, Stephen Hanley 8.23 Malcolm McLean 8.30, Shaun Wiseman 8.35, Graham McGrattan 8.36, Claire Thompson (First Lady) 8.44, David Eamesv 8.44, Stephen Reid 8.46, Archie Nicol 9.02, Stuart Crawford 9.03, Paul McKendry 9.05, Laura Richie 9.06, David Ness 9.15, Ros Lawson 9.23, Jim Buick 9.28, Katherine Hylands 9.39, Lucas Bezian 9.45, Cameron Crawford 9.46, Ava Beaton 9.49, Marianne McKay 9.52, Alex Wiseman 10.03, Sean MacFarlane 10.08, Fiona MacFarlane 10.13, Sophie McLaughlin 10.14, Gerry Gillespie 10.28, Cheryl Thomas 10.29, Ian Anscombe 10.31, Marina McCallum 10.53, Lynsey Parker 10.54, Lorna Coyle 10.54, Erin McEleny 10.59, Simon Hutton 11.04, Angela Campbell 11.30, Stewart Nicol 11.38, Chris Hevert 11.44, Stephen Crumlish 11.57, Angeline Austin 12.18, Debbie McKenzie 12.37, David Carruthers 13.30, Debbie Parker 14.00, Aimee McEleny 14.13, Lynn Campbell 14.21, Claire Melville 14.51, Charlotte McKay 14.53, Eddie Devine 15.54

Leave a Reply