Colin Shields Road Race 2018

The 2018 Colin Shields Road Race took place in blustery conditions on Saturday. The wild conditions didn’t put the Harriers off though as a superb 54 runners took part in the race. Even more were in attendance volunteering and posing for the annual club photos.


The wind was in the runners’ faces as they set off down Dunlop Street and headed west. The first relief from the wind came at the Hospital where some runner were lucky not to be blown off of their feet! The wind was assisting on the way home, but for some it was too little too late…

This race last year saw Chris Mooney win his first of now many club races, and the defending champion was not only able to retain his title, he managed to strip almost a minute off of his time in the process. Harry McGill stepped up to this senior race for the first time and put in a great effort to secure second place in a time similar to the winning time last year (which was ran in better conditions). Alan Mollins also tackled this course for the first time and put in a good run to finish 7th overall. The time trial format always throws up tight finishes once the finishing times are calculated, and this year it saw Steven Campbell take 3rd place by 1 second from Paul Monaghan.

The tight finishes continued in the ladies race with Sue Hewitson narrowly taking the victory from Marian Monk. There was only 5 seconds in it once the maths had been done at the end! Claire Monaghan was in third place a whole 2 1/2 minutes faster than last year as she continues her great form. Marianne McKay looked pretty pleased with herself en route to taking 30 seconds off of her time from last year. There were also improvements from Donna Campbell and Silke Loehendorf.


The biggest improvement on the day was from James Campbell. His recent training at the club sessions and his participation in cross country has clearly benefited him as he took a whopping 4 minutes off of his time from last year! Daniel Doherty and Alan O’Rourke took over a minute off of their times from last year, whilst Paul Monaghan and Kenny Scott also improved their times. It was good to see some new faces out running too, with Callum Gorry making his first appearance in a club race having recently joined up.


As always a big thank you must be shared to the volunteers. The weather was not kind to those out patrolling the streets or keeping time. Thank you also to Thomas Loehndorf for taking the club photos.

There are still plenty of opportunities to don the club vest before Christmas with 3 cross countries, the Jimmy Irvine 10k and the next club race (Wilson Trophy 15th December) all on the race calendar. We also have 5 representatives down in Swansea for the upcoming British and Irish Masters cross country. The prizegiving is on for Friday 23rd November in Gourock Bowling Club. More on that soon!


Results: Chris Mooney 25.10, Harry McGill 26.18, Steven Campbell 26.27, Paul Monaghan 26.28, Andrew White 26.53, Daniel Doherty 27.35, Alan Mollins 27.48, Andrew Osborne 28.05, Robert Dolan 28.42, Sean Marshall 28.45, Chris Watson 28.47, John Stevenson 29.19, Stephen Hanley 29.48, Steven Watson 30.10, David McCorkindale 31.16, Danny McLaughlin 31.33, George McCallum 31.42, Graham McGrattan 31.53, Alan O’Rourke 32.00, David Roberts 32.30, David Ness 32.36, Stuart Austin 32.40, Malcolm McLean 33.09, Sue Hewitson 33.19, Marian Monk 33.24, Stephen Reid 33.30, Ian McKee 33.46, Claire Monaghan 33.58, Steven Smith 34.05, Callum Gorry 34.09, Sandra Campbell 34.26, Donna Campbell 34.40, Marianne McKay 35.07, Nicola Stevenson 35.42, Lorna Coyle, 35.45 Frank McMahon 36.05 Matthew Young 36.06, Kenny Scott 36.19, Jim Cuffe 36.21, Colin Campbell 36.39, Fiona MacFarlane 36.44, James Campbell 38.18, Boyd McKenzie 38.28, Debbie McKenzie 39.02, Sharon Black 39.06, Lisa Boonsanong 39.27, Silke Loehndorf 40.34, Kevin Gill 40.34, John Carruthers 40.45, Paul Hegarty 40.46, Grace Campbell 43.02, Simon Hutton 43.39, David Carruthers 45.50, David Black 51.11

Leave a Reply