Juniors First Foot at Coves

Harris Trophy Junior Races 5/1/19

The Glenpark Juniors were again out in force for their first championship race of 2019 at Coves Reservoirs.

  • The under 11s contested the small 1.2 mile loop around the top reservoir. And it was no surprise to see Douglas Campbell shoot straight to the front. It was a lead he was to hold to the finish. Just behind him there was terrific sprint to the line between Leo Beaton and Cameron Crawford, with Leo just edging ahead on the grassy incline to the finish. Erin McEleny was quickest girl; her hard work over the holidays paying off, with the improving Summer Taggart in 2nd holding off Brooke Taylor.
  • The under 13’s contested the slightly longer 1.4 mile lap around both reservoirs, and it provided keen competition in both the boys and girls races. Harris Morrison’s early lead was gradually clawed back by Ben Campbell. Ben on this occasion coming out on top as he pulled away in the last quarter mile. Behind them came David Docherty continuing to progress with a fine run for 3rd. It was much closer between Ava Beaton and Katie Johnson.  Ava had built up what had looked like a comfortable lead, but in the steep climb up the path, Katie put in a surge to close the gap, but Ava had done enough to hold on, with Sophie McGinty in third.   These were encouraging performances by Ben, Harris, Ava and Katie as they go into their final preparations prior to next Saturdays Inter-district XC championships where they will be representing the West of Scotland Team.
  • In the 2.75mile two lap race Ewan Ferguson and Sean Wiseman went stride for stride for almost the entire distance, but it was Ewan who was to prevail as he edged clear in the run in to the line. Jude Dolan held on well to keep the pair within sight for an excellent 3rd. Ruby McGill dominated in the girls’ race, but her team mates can take encouragement from their performance, as their times continue to improve, as they gradually cut down on the gap. Abbie Tosh took the runners-up spot, followed by Emma Aitken.

1.2 miles: Douglas Campbell 8.05, Leo Beaton 8.22, Cameron Crawford 8.25, Connor McCrorey 8.36, Cameron Beck 8.41, Erin McEleny 9.05, Ruari Trainer 9.12, Summer Taggart 9.40, Brooke Taylor 9.49, Gabriel Forrest 10.07, Leah Knox 10.31, Mirren McConnell 10.40, Aimee McEleny 10.53, Stella McCabe 11.05, Charlie Pierce 12.29, Sam Cushnaghan 12.48,

1.4miles: Ben Campbell 8.24, Harris Morrison 8.36,  Ava Beaton 9.33, David Docherty 9.35, Katie Johnson 9.35, Ewan Johnson 9.45, Sophie McGinty 10.49, Maria McCabe 11.20, Holly Beck 12.53,

2.75 miles: Ewan Ferguson 18.19, Sean Wiseman 18.21, Jude Dollan 18.52, Ruby McGill 19.45, Abbie Tosh 21.57, Alex Wiseman 23.49, Emma Aitken 24.49, Olivia Trainer 24.58, Francesca McKay 26.27, Abbigael Crawford 29.06,


Under 11s on the Start Line

Leave a Reply