Renfrewshire Road Race 2019

The 2019 Renfrewshire road race took place last Sunday in Greenock. The annual 5 mile race continues to be every popular with the harriers with our senior runners once again turning out in superb numbers. Over 50 of our runner took to the streets on a bitterly cold Sunday afternoon and there were some great results in among them.

The 5 mile course takes runners on a lap of the battery park before heading out to the far end of the esplanade. They turn there and make their way back to the start, including another lap of the park to finish. It’s a flat course that often leads to very good five mile times, a race distance not often ran with strong fields. The weather looked horrendous as the senior huddled together inside the pavilion, not really wanting to venture outside. The gods were kind though and the rain eased off, and the wind did likewise. There was still a headwind on the second half of the race, but not as bad as the hour beforehand.

Stephen Trainer was unable to return to try and defend his gold medal from last year, as Inverclyde AC’s Sean Fontana took the win in just under 25 mins. Among the chasing pack were Glenpark’s form men in Chris Mooney and Andrew White. Andrew secured the V50 gold medal (and was also first V40!) in under 27 mins, just 10 seconds behind rival Mooney. Paul Monaghan was not far behind as 3rd harrier and newcomer Wes Pattison impressing in his first outing in the sky blue vest. These four as well as Stevie Campbell and Neil Lafferty made up the top 6 counters that claimed the district silver medal in the team prizes, just 2 points ahead of Bellahouston Harriers! Well done guys.

The medals didn’t stop there for the men. Graham McGrattan secured the v60 gold with a solid run. Eddie Devine was first v70 and it was great to see Eddie out there smling his way round 5 miles! Among the other men competing, there were some big 5 miles PBs, Robert Dolan, Stephen Hanley and Oliver Reilly standing out. There was also a Harriers debut for Owen Atkinson and Rhys Jones.

There was a superb turnout from the Harriers ladies with captain Marian Monk rallying the troops down to the Battery. Sadly the reigning ladies champion had to cheer on from the sidelines due to injury. Sue Hewitson was first Harrier home as she chased down Chloe Simpson (running for Kilbarchan on the day), and Chloe just edged it on the line. Sandra Campbell, Claire Monaghan and Cheryl Thomas all had great runs to make the top 4, but it wasn’t quite enough to sneak into the medals in the team race. It was a day of near misses from the ladies in the medal stakes, as Sue’s run just missed on on v40 bronze.

There were a number of debuts from the lady Harriers, with Sandra Devine, Heather Lafferty, Elaine Medinelli and Angela Nelson pulling on the vest for the first time. All have been regulars at Greenock parkrun and more recently at the Harriers sessions, and are loving life in the club!

This thirst for running can be continued next Saturday, with the 2019 Willow Bowl up at the Greenock Cut! A conceding handicap race taking in a full loop of the cut is arguably the best club race of the year, it’s certainly the most scenic! It all kicks off at 2pm at the Watermans Cottage Saturday 16th February, with registration in the clubhouse and refreshments in The Willow Bar after! See you there!

Results: Chris Mooney 26:45, Andrew White 26:55, Paul Monaghan 28:04, Wes Pattison 28:21, Neil Lafferty 28:47, Steven Campbell 28:51, Daniel Doherty 29:16, Robert Dolan 29:36, John Stevenson 30:27, Stephen Hanley 30:39, Chris Jones 31:13, Owen Atkinson 31:21, Duncan Anderson 31:40, Chris Watson 31:56, David McCorkindale 32:01, Ross Neilson 32:16, Oliver Reilly 32:22, Sue Hewitson 33:01, Graham McGrattan 33:43, David Ness 33:58, Alan O’Rourke 34:24, Stuart Austin 34:29, Ian McKee 35:08, Stephen Reid 35:09, Stuart Crawford 35:51, Craig Canning 36:02, Robin McAuslan 36:12, Sandra Campbell 36:21, Claire Monaghan 36:29, Cheryl Thomas 37:15, Donna Campbell 37:26, Marianne McKay 37:37, Frank McMahon 37:44, Rhys Jones 38:51, Terri Wall 39:29, Kenny Scott 40:04, Viki Smith 40:05, James Campbell 40:22, Lisa Boonsanong 40:34, Sharon Black 41:26, Gerry Gillespie 41:51, Dannie Seddon 42:14, Boyd MacKenzie 42:14, Eileen Stevenson 42:22, Heather Lafferty 42:23, Angela Nelson 44:45, John Carruthers 44:55, Grace Campbell 45:14, Elaine Medinelli 45:32, Simon Hutton 45:59, Sandra Devine 47:18, Edward Devine 49:00, Charlotte McKay 51:02, David Black 54.34

Leave a Reply