Erin & Douglas are XC League Champions

All Harriers

Erin McEleny and Douglas Campbell were joint winners of the GGH Tower Hill cross country League after recording the quickest times in the final time trial on a windswept Tower Hill. After 4 long months of competition the pair couldn’t be separated with both gaining maximum points, attending all 9 rounds and running quickest in their category in the 3 time trials.

In the final round despite the weather it was a record attendance with 31 youngsters taking part smashing the previous best of 24. The under 11s raced 1 mile, u13s & 15s 2mile, and u17s 3miles around multiple laps  of the 800m course.

The u13 girls was the closest contest, with Sophie McGinty and Ava Beaton taking advantage of Katie Johnson’s absence to leap frog her to share the girls’ title. Douglas’ brother Ben took the u13 boys title.

In the U15s Harris Morrison won from Shaun Wiseman by 1 point, while ever present Abbie Tosh was the victorious girl.

Ewan Ferguson and Mhairi Moore came out top in the U17s age group.

The most improved athlete was Summer Taggart whose time of 7.26minutes for the hilly 1 mile xc route was 1minute and 40 seconds quicker than she ran in the first time trial.

This was the 2nd year of the competition, with overall numbers taking part up by 50%

Final Time Trial:

1mile: Douglas Campbell 6.18, Leo Beaton 6.48, Connor McCrorey 6.56, Cameron Beck 7.00, Erin McEleny 7.07, Summer Taggart 7.26, Ruari Trainer 7.59, Ben Mullen 8.20, Brooke Taylor 8.23, Leah Knox 8.29, Aimee McEleny 8.43, Matthew Ross 8.46, Mirren McConnell 9.51,

2miles: Shaun Wiseman 12.07, Ben Campbell 12.14, Harris Morrison 12.45, Ruby McGill 12.59, Euan Johnson 13.10, Ava Beaton 13.13, David Docherty 13.22, Jude Dolan 14.06, Abbie Tosh 15.24, Sophie McGinty 15.43, Francesca McKay 16.01, Alex Wiseman 16.15, Olivia Trainer 16.56, Emma Aitken 17.22, Holly Beck 17.56,

3miles: Harry McGill 17.14, Alan Mollins 17.51, Ewan Ferguson 19.58,

Joint Overall League winners Douglas Campbell & Erin McEleny

Age Category Winners

U11s: Douglas Campbell, Erin McEleny

U13s: Ben Campbell, Ava Beaton & Sophie McGinty

U15s: Harris Morrison, Abbie Tosh

U17s: Ewan Ferguson, Mhairi Moore

U20: Ryan Brown

Leave a Reply