Emma & Jude Win Mile Race

Wilson Trophy 1 mile Handicap, Ravenscraig stadium 21st March 2019

Emma Aitken & Jude Dolan took the honours in Greenock Glenpark Harriers re-arranged Wilson Trophy Mile, as the pair won the Girls’ and Boys’ Handicap races under the floodlights at Ravenscraig stadium.

But it was almost a dream debut for new boy Grant Munro who was first away in the Boys’ conceding handicap, as he stayed in front for 1400 metres, alas it wasn’t to be, as he was swamped by the chasing pack in the closing stages. It was Jude Dolan who led the charge, striding past Grant with 200 metres remaining to win the Boys title, followed in by Leo Beaton, with  3rd spot claimed by Cameron Crawford whose lunge over the line held off the fast finishing Shaun Wiseman.

The back markers and recording the quickest scratch times on the night were Ryan Brown and Harris Morrison who set off together. Ryan pushed the pace from the start and established a comfortable gap, but Harris responded strongly at the bell and closed Ryan’s lead to a few metres.

In the girls race Emma Aitken appropriately wearing the number 1on her vest was impressive as she cut through the early starters before finally hitting the front in the final lap to win by 30 metres. Francesca McKay was back her best form to take the runners-up spot with young Mirren McConnell holding on well for 3rd.

Ruby McGill, Ava Beaton and Katie Johnson were the final group sent off, and the trio stayed together for the first of the 4 laps as they caught the early starters. But it was Ruby who made made the break and she steadily opened up a lead over her 2 team mates. They can all be happy with their nights work as all 3 smashed their PBs for the distance.

1 mile results: Ryan Brown 5.19, Harris Morrison 5.21, Shaun Wiseman 5.31, Jude Dolan 5.37, Ruby McGill 5.43, Ava Beaton 5.52, David Docherty 5.54, Katie Johnson 6.00, Euan Johnson 6.03, Emma Aitken 6.24, Leo Beaton 6.26, Abbie Tosh 6.29, Cameron Crawford 6.31, Cameron Beck 6.34, Erin McEleny 6.49, Ruari Trainer 6.51, Maria McCabe 6.53, Summer Taggart 6.56, Francesca McKay 7.02, Leah Knox  7.02, Oliver Jones 7.03, Sophie McGinty 7.11, Aimee McEleny 7.18, Olivia Trainer 7.18, Alex Wiseman 7.24, Mirren McConnell 7.37, Johnathon Lamont 7.37, Beth Docherty 7.48, Stella McCabe 8.13, Matthew Ross 8.15, Abbigael Crawford 8.18, Jacob McCabe 8.25, Murray Brown 8.30, Rob Mcnee 8.33, Finlay McCabe 8.47, Grant Munro 9.02, Zac Gallacher 9.13, Orla Trainer 9.16, Jamie Gallacher 9.43.


Leave a Reply