Renfrewshire Road Race 2020

There was a fantastic turnout of Greenock Glenpark Harriers for the annual Renfrewshire 5 mile road race last Sunday. This event always seems to bring with it some West of Scotland weather challenges, and this year was no different! However, it didn’t stop 57 seniors from braving the wind a rain. A super turnout from the club in our 125th year.

The opportunity for a fast and flat 5 mile race always brings out a string field. Kilbarchan’s Olympian Derek Hawkins cruised to victory in 24.36. Derek and his reflection was perfectly captured by our photographer just prior to the masses splashing their way through one of the large puddles. It was a Kilbarchan one two, with Holly Thompson winning the ladies race. There were also comfortable wins for Bellahouston Road runners and Inverclyde AC in the ladies and mens team competitions respectively.


Sue Hewitson was first Harrier female with a good run in 33.2, just missing out on v40 bronze too. There was a silver in the v50 category for Fiona Cushnaghan and also a silver in the v60 for Charlotte McKay. Well done girls! Marian Monk is steadily making her way back to top racing form, as she outfought Claire Monaghan for 2nd Harrier. The ladies team were pushed out into 4th place and sadly missed out on a medal. It was good to see Fiona MacFarlane and Cheryl Thomas pushing the top 3 ladies very close, almost getting themselves in as a team counter.


Shaun Lyon finished as the top male harrier and was 8th overall in 26.10. Run of the day has to go to Neil Lafferty. He has been flying in recent weeks with storming runs at the vets relays and at parkrun, but he took a good few scalps with his brilliant time of 27.06 for 2nd Harrier and 12th overall. This also saw Neil claim a v40 bronze, brilliant run Neil! Neil was narrowly ahead of Paul Monaghan and Stevie Campbell. Andy White and Daniel Doherty made up the six counters for the male team to claim a brilliant silver medal.


There were also medals for Danny McLaughlin, with a v60 silver. The solo gold medal of the day for the club came to Andy White, who strolled to victory in the v50 race in under 28 minutes. It wasn’t as fast as Andy’s run here last year, but his training is going well ahead of an other assault on the London Marathon.


Marathon training was paying off further down the field, as Oliver Reilly continued his great form to claim 7th spot on the team in just over 29 minutes. Similarly, Robert Dolan also ran a big 5 mile PB (with a 5k PB thrown in during the race too). Sandwiched between these two were the returning Chris Mooney who held off Stephen Hanley’s charging sprint finish. It is good to see former club champion Chris making a return to racing after 12 months of injury woes, and he followed this race up with a cracking 17.18 at parkrun yesterday.

Duncan Anderson made a return to racing after a quiet winter, and picked up where he left off at the tail end of last year by dipping under 30. There were good runs for Kevin Craig, James Doherty and Liam McFadden, who have recently joined the club. Another new face Stuart Clark really surprised himself with his time, and really felt the benefit of the Harriers training and the quality of the field on show.

There were two graduates from our Tuesday night Couch to Club Runner sessions taking part in the race. Emma Sinclair has ran 10k races since joining the club, but perhaps not in this sort of weather! Jennifer Boyd took part in her longest race, and indeed longest run to date and was delighted to get round in well under 50 minutes. Hopefully we see a few more graduates as the season progresses.

A big thank you to all of the race volunteers and marshals for helping out in such terrible conditions. The times for our runners are below (noting that there is still a slight issue with the ladies times)

Results: Shaun Lyon 26:10, Neil Lafferty 27:06, Paul Monaghan 27:16, Steven Campbell 27:19, Andrew White 27:53, Daniel Doherty 28:48, Oliver Reilly 29:12, Chris Mooney 29:15
Stephen Hanley 29:16, Robert Dolan 29:21, Duncan Anderson 29:51, Kevin Craig 30:17
Michael McLoone 31:17, John Stevenson 31:23, Owen Atkinson 31:33, Sean Marshall 32:15, David McCorkindale 32:46, Sue Hewitson 33:27, Danny McLaughlin 33:47, James Doherty 34:46, Stephen Reid 34:59, James McFadden 35:08, Liam McFadden 35:30, Stuart Austin 35:42, Richard Jow 35:44, David Holmes 35:51, Alan O’Rourke 35:55, Ian McKee 35:57, Eric Lindsay 36:07, Marian Monk 36:11, Calum Gorry 36:12, Stuart Clark 36:16
Robin McAuslan 36:18, Claire Monaghan 36:19, Fiona MacFarlane 36:40, Cheryl Thomas 36:45, James Campbell 36:56, Scot Hill 37:22, Frank McMahon 37:51, Lucas Bezian 38:08
Lisa Boonsanong 39:12, Debbie McKenzie 39:18, Lynsey Mooney 39:35, Gerry Gillespie 40:09, Kenny Scott 40:21, Stuart Crawford 40:36, Fiona Cushnaghan 40:54, Heather Lafferty 40:55, Boyd MacKenzie 42:19,Elaine Medinelli 43:28, Angela Nelson 43:33, Julie Smith 43:49, David Carruthers 45:29, Jennifer Boyd 47:42, Emma Sinclair 50:04, Charlotte McKay 52:10, Simon Hutton 52:31

Leave a Reply