James Wilson Memorial 10,000m Race – Sunday, 8th August 2021

On Sunday, 8th August, Greenock Glenpark Harriers hosted the first ever James Wilson Memorial 10,000m track race at Inverclyde’s Ravenscraig Stadium. 

19 harriers lined up at the start to take part in a gruelling 25 laps of the Ravenscraig Track. Shaun Lyon continued his excellent run of form to record a fantastic time going under 33 minutes to win the mens’ race. Meanwhile, Sue Hewitson also proved that regular track workouts were paying dividends – going under 42 minutes and taking the ladies crown. 

Shaun Lyon

The race – delayed from last year – was organised to mark the centenary of Glenpak Harrier James Wilson’s participation in the 1920 Olympics Games held in Antwerp Belgium. James earned an individual bronze medal in the track 10,000m race as well as team silver for Great Britain in the cross country event.  

Sue Hewitson

Other 10,000m heats took place on the day as Greenock Glenpark Harriers were host club for the Scottish Athletics 10,000m masters races. Many of the fastest over 40 runners from across Scotland took part.  

The Harriers would like to thank all volunteers, track officials and Inverclyde Leisure staff who supported the event on the day. In addition the following local businesses who contributed to the event: DJ John Curruthers; photographers Peter Wilson & Ken McArthur; as well as Morrisons Greenock who supplied the bottled water.

Robin and Gordy for GGH

32:45.63 Shaun Lyon, 34:50.92 Paul Monaghan, 36:05.24 Neil Lafferty, 36:44.64 Oliver Reilly, 37:09.74 Andrew McCall, 37:14.81 Christopher Mooney, 37:29.15 Kevin Craig, 40:06.10 Gordon Hepburn, 41:36.73 Paul McAulay, 41:47.86 Sue Hewitson, 44:08.40 Graeme Boyce, 44:20.58 Campbell Cromar, 44:31.81 Marian Monk, 44:41.37 Micky Dunn, 47:57.20 Stephen Reid , 50:09.05 Debbie Mckenzie, 54:00.87 Lynsey Mooney
Selected Others: 35:18.57 Graeme Hyett Inverclyde Athletic Club, 40:11.12 Thomas Jamieson Inverclyde Athletic Club

Leave a Reply