Docherty Cup 2022

On Saturday 9th April 2022 the seniors took on the longest race of the club championship, the Docherty Cup 10 mile road race. The race started with a 1 mile loop of the Gourock esplanade and then headed West to Inverkip and back. The junior race took place at the same location and consisted of various distances.

George McCallum (pictured above) continued his awe-inspiring form to take home the Connie Gavin Memorial Handicap Trophy for the first runner to cross the line on his home turf, only 6 days after his epic performance at the Manchester Marathon. In the end, George’s performance was enough to stop newcomer Stephen Harrison from taking the honours. Stephen has been going from strength to strength since joining the club and it took George to run another incredible race to take home the trophy. A well deserved victory for George who has been working incredibly hard and is reaping the benefits in every race. Third across the line was club veteran Graham McGrattan, thanks to the handicap committee who set up a tasty battle for the trophy.

Paul - Mens winner
Paul – Mens winner

In the senior men’s race Paul Monaghan earned a hard fought victory to take home the trophy after a very quick start seen him through to the finish. Paul overturned the result against Oliver Reilly only 6 days after the Tom Scott 10 mile race with both athletes improving their time over the distance. At the start Paul quickly caught up with Andy McCall and his training partner Kyle Wilson after an initial one minute head start. Both runners held Paul into Lunderston Bay until the short hill leading to the Bankfoot roundabout. It was then Kyle who showed his strength on the inclines to take the lead on Paul. At the turn, with the trophy in his sights, Oliver was catching up to the group but with Kyle and Paul in a head to head race they had the advantage. In the end Kyle managed to sustain a gap on Paul and will be delighted to take 3rd place and well ahead of his target time. Paul now makes this 3 club race wins and his rich vein of form continues into a busy race calendar. Good luck to Oliver as he heads to the Boston Marathon and will now enjoy a well deserved taper period after a fantastic 2nd place.

Marian Monk
Marian – Ladies winner

In the senior women’s race it was Marian Monk who edged out Lorna Mitchell by only 14 seconds to take home the trophy. Lorna started one minute ahead of Marian in the staggered start and knew she couldn’t give an inch. In the end Marian made it 4 wins from 6 this season and a new 10 mile Personal Best time. Lorna will be delighted with a Personal Best time over the distance which will be a big confidence boost ahead of The Fling, a mere 53 mile trail race – good luck Lorna. The Harrison household will be delighted with their days work as Lynne took a well deserved 3rd place.

Junior Race Docherty Cup 2022
Junior Race

Following his impressive run at the Young Athletes Road Race, Jude Dolan claimed the honours in the U17 race. Pursued closely by Kyle Johnstone, Shaun Wiseman & Ruby McGill, Jude was made to work all the way to the line finishing in an impressive time of 8:27. Ruby McGill’s consistent training is paying off as the pushed her training partners all the way. Summer Taggart was next home in the two lap race with Jack Campbell completing the 1 lap course in a great time. Well done to all of our junior athletes.

Our races can’t go ahead without our fantastic army of volunteers. Thank you to everyone for your support on the day in various roles.

A huge thanks to our race sponsors The Spinnaker Hotel for their continued support and post race hospitality. Thanks also to Inverclyde Leisure for providing use of the shower facilities.

Next up, the Harriers head across the water to Dunoon for the Willie Jukes 5 mile road race. This is a special occasion for the club as we come together to celebrate with Willie’s family in what would have been Willie’s 70th birthday. Let’s see our usual big family turnout for the race on Saturday 30th April. Guest runners are also welcome.

Senior results

  1. Paul Monaghan, 00:57:19
  2. Oliver Reilly, 00:57:31
  3. Kyle Wilson, 00:57:37
  4. Andy McCall, 00:58:21
  5. Neil Lafferty, 00:59:04
  6. Andrew White, 00:59:40
  7. Michael McLoone, 01:01:09
  8. Michael Joseph McLoone, 01:01:11
  9. Steven Campbell, 01:02:49
  10. Robert Dolan, 01:04:00
  11. George McCallum, 01:05:08
  12. Owen Atkinson, 01:06:08
  13. Eric Lindsay, 01:07:10
  14. Stephen Harrison, 01:08:27
  15. Graham McGrattan, 01:08:38
  16. Campbell Cromar, 01:09:00
  17. William Taylor, 01:09:26
  18. Daniel Doherty, 01:09:41
  19. Stewart Anderson, 01:11:42
  20. Graeme Boyce, 01:13:00
  21. Craig Hyslop, 01:13:30
  22. Marian Monk, 01:13:35
  23. Lorna Mitchell, 01:13:49
  24. Stephen Reid, 01:14:21
  25. Colin McKnight, 01:14:24
  26. Callum Gorry, 01:17:47
  27. Ross Morrison, 01:18:00
  28. Lynne Harrison, 01:19:42
  29. Heather Lafferty, 01:22:13
  30. Terri Wall, 01:22:43
  31. Danny Mclaughlin, 01:22:44
  32. Cheryl Thomas, 01:24:01
  33. Yvonne Prager, 01:29:49
  34. Lynsey McLaughlin, 01:32:33

Junior results:

Jack Campbell, 5:12

Summer Taggart, 10:49

1. Jude Dolan, 8:27
2. Kyle Johnstone, 8:50
3. Shaun Wiseman, 9:13
4. Ruby McGill, 9:55