GGH 100m Starting Line -Ups

Attached is the starting order for the 10 heats in Round 1 of Thursday Night’s JK Neave 100m handicap competition.  The first 3 from each of the 10 heats progress to round 2. The first 2 from each of the 4 heats in Round 2 will then face each other in the final for the JK Neave Salver. 2017 100m Heats List   Races start at 6.15pm sharp. All athletes to collect race numbers from 5.45 to 6.05pm at Ravenscraig stadium.

Leah Knox

Harry’s Fantastic Final


Congratulations to Glenpark Harrier Harry McGill who last night ran his fastest ever 800metres at the Derek McLean Memorial race at Crownpoint.

On the previous Tuesday’s heats with only 8 to qualify he managed to sneak into the final as fastest loser, but he still managed to run a personal best of 2.12, in badly judged race in which he went through the first lap in 63 seconds.

In last night’s  (29th Sept) final it looked like it was going to form with Harry just holding on to the pack in last place, only this time he went through the bell in a more sensible 65 seconds. With 100metres to go he  kicked off the bend and flew past his competitors and just missed out in a podium place by 0.11seconds to finish a fantastic 4th in a time of  2 minutes and 10 seconds…“it was the best sprint I’ve ever done”

The invitational race which has a long history and previous winners have went  on to compete at the highest level, and only the  top ranked under 15 boys over 800m  in Scotland are invited to take part in the prestigious event.

Neave Trophy 100m Handicap

It is  near to the closing date for race entries for GGH members.


Thursday 7th September GGH  Neave Trophy, 100m handicap,  Ravenscraig stadium, Greenock –  For All Juniors & Seniors.  – 6pm start (Entry is free)

Inform  (with name and your age) if you wish to run by Sunday 3rd Sept.  Handicap based on age and gender. NO Late entries.

Weather doesn’t dampen Harriers performance at Bute

Bute Highland Games 19th August 2017


It was another successful day at Rothesay for the Harriers at the Bute Highland Games which saw the Seniors’ dominating the 10k road race, and our juniors sweeping up the top prizes on the track.

In the wet and windy conditions Fiona Ramsay overcame a scare which saw her lose her long held lead at 7km mark but she fought back to run out a convincing winner in 39 minutes.

Shaun Lyon’s bid to win his home 10k were dashed again by Cambuslang’s Robert Gilroy, as he finished in 2nd place for the 3rd year in a row. It was a brave attempt by Shaun as he went with the early pace, but he was just unable to match the experienced Internationalist. Team mates Steven Campbell and Paul Monaghan were not far behind in 6th & 7th.

24 juniors competed in the 100m, 200m, and 800m races.  Scooping most of the prizes as they coped well with the extremely difficult, wet, windy and slippy underfoot conditions. A special mention to those taking part in their first open competition, Madeline McCabe, Francesca McKay, Josh Docherty, Douglas Campbell, Patrick McCabe, Katie  and Ewan Johnson, Aimee and Erin McEleny, all can be proud of their performances.

Scottish Under 15s National T&F Championships, Scotstoun 20th August 2017

Harry McGill had a successful championships at Scotstoun stadium. With the first 4 to qualify from each of the heats, Harry sailed through securing his place in the final by easily finishing in second place.

After a long 4 ½ hour wait, he again took to the track with all the top middle distance runners in Scotland. He was expecting it to be hard but it was made all the tougher when Central AC’s Lewis Dow led out a blistering first lap of 64 seconds, which strung out the field of 14 starters.

Harry maintained his challenge all the way to the line, and moved through the pack to eventually finish 8th, in 4.28minutes, 8 seconds quicker than his heat, but just failing by a single second to record a PB. Afterwards he said it had been painful towards the end as he was suffering from the effect of lactic acid following the quick first lap, but that he was still pleased with his days work.

Fiona’s Winning Weekend


It has been an amazing winning weekend for Fiona Ramsay. On Saturday she was first lady at the Bute Highland Games 10k road race, then the following day she took top spot at the Gourock Triathlon.

It has been a stunning start for Fiona since joining the Harriers. A demonstration of her all round ability also saw her finish 2nd in the 42mile Devil O’ the Highlands Ultramarathon earlier this month.