Club Races & Championship Tables

2017-2018 GGH Club Championship Tables

Senior Club Championship
Senior club championship tables updated to include the Cornalees Hill Race:

Junior Club Championship
After Race 8 of 10 in the 2017-18 Junior Championship – :   Championship results 2017-18 Junior

Junior Tower Hill XC League

Final Positions after all 9 XC sessions:   Tower Hill XC League

Final xc league

2017-2018 GGH Championship Club Races

JG Cameron Road Race
23rd September 2017 – Greenock Esplanade
Seniors: 4km road race. Starts 500m from Greenock end of Esplanade, following pavement to middle gate of Battery Park. Enter park and follow path behind pavilion, exit 1st gate and return to start.
Juniors: 1km road race. Starts 500m from Greenock end of Esplanade, out and back.
Winners 2017-18:
Steven Campbell 13.36
Marian Monk 17.37

Colin Shields
4th November 2017 – Dunlop Street, Greenock
Seniors: 4.5 mile time trial. Start at top of Dunlop street, follow pavement to walkover at Branchton railway station. Cross walkover and continue uphill past Inverclyde Hospital then down to shop at cross-roads. Turn left along Larkfield road past Gourock cemetery, then continue down Cumberland road. Cross over the flyover and return to top of Dunlop street.
Juniors: 1 mile. Start at top of Dunlop street, follow pavement downhill for 0.5 miles then return back to start.
Winner 2017-18
Chris Mooney 26.03
Lorna Coyle 34.08

Wilson Trophy
23rd December 2017 – Greenock Cut
Seniors: 4.5 mile conceding handicap trail race. Ran along the trails connecting the Greenock reservoirs.
Juniors: 1 mile. Out and back course.
Winner 2017-18:
Chris Mooney (28.14)
Marian Monk (37.48)
Graeme Crawford (handicap)

Harris Trophy
6th January 2018 – Coves Reservoirs, Greenock
Seniors: 5.5 mile non-conceding handicap race. Starts across from Inverclyde Hospital, and follows the gravel path anti-clockwise around the lower Coves reservoir. Covers four laps of the 1.4 mile trail.
Juniors: 1.5 miles: Under 13’s (1 lap) 3 miles: Under 15’s & 17’s (2 laps)
Winners 2017-18
Andrew White (32.39)
Marian Monk (42.35)
Danny McLaughlin (handicap)

Willow Bowl
17th February 2018 – Greenock Cut
Seniors: 7.5 miles conceding handicap race. Start at the Long Dam, turn left and uphill at Waterman’s Cottage follow the trail over the hill, and down past the compensation reservoir to the Cornalees Visitor Centre. Go through gates, down steps onto the Cut. Follow the Cut for 5 miles back to the Waterman’s Cottage then back to “Long Dam”.
(No junior race)

Docherty Cup
14th April 2018 – Gourock Promenade
Seniors: 10 mile conceding handicap race. Starts at Gourock Ashton promenade and heads along Cloch Road, turning just after Inverkip roundabout and coming back to start.
Juniors: 1.2 km: Under 11’s (1 lap), 2.4 km: Under 13’s, 15’s & 17’s (2 laps). Junior course is a loop(s) of the Gourock Ashton promenade.

Willie Jukes Trophy
5th May 2018 – Dunoon
Seniors: 5 mile non-conceding handicap race. Out and back course, start and finish at West Bay Pavilion along the coastal pavement to Innellan.

Chisholm Mile
29th May 2018 – Greenock Esplanade
Seniors and Juniors: 1 mile point to point race: From one end of the Greenock Esplanade to the other. Whether the race starts at the West end or the East end is decided on the day depending on the direction of the wind, which will be at the runners backs.

Cornalees Hill Race
23rd June 2018 – Woodstock Road, Greenock
Seniors: 5 mile hill race with 900 feet of ascent. Starts at Woodstock Road and climbs to Hillside Hill (above the Cornalees Visitors Centre).
Juniors: 800m uphill race. Uphill course from Woodstock Road to the Cut.

Singlehurst Trophy
7th July 2018
Trail race held near Kingarth, Bute

Bill Elder Trophy
7th August 2018  – Battery Park, Greenock
Seniors. 10km road race with non-conceding handicap. Start in Battery Park at middle gate run in clockwise direction, behind Pavilion and leave park at road exit. Turn left and follow cycle path along to Esplanade and container way. Turning point is around the clock tower at Customhouse quay.
Juniors: 2km race, 2 laps (1km for under 11s) of the Battery Park
Other Races


7 thoughts on “Club Races & Championship Tables

  1. Pingback: Upcoming Events | Greenock Glenpark Harriers

  2. Pingback: Cornalees Hill Race 25th June | Greenock Glenpark Harriers

  3. Pingback: Singlehurst Trail Race 23rd July | Greenock Glenpark Harriers

  4. Pingback: GGH Races – Update | Greenock Glenpark Harriers

  5. Pingback: GGH Club Championship positions after 4 races | Greenock Glenpark Harriers

  6. Pingback: Just 3 races to go!!! | Greenock Glenpark Harriers

  7. Pingback: Harriers events | Greenock Glenpark Harriers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s