Harriers Run in the Sun

Singlehurst Trail Race – 8th July 2017

Local man Shaun Lyon made full use of home advantage to win Greenock Glenpark Harriers Singlehurst trail race, when the Harriers travelled to Bute for their penultimate championship competition.

In blazing sunshine the new venue provided undoubtedly the most scenic views in the club calendar. The 5.7km race started at Kingarth then headed down to the village of Kilchattan. The runners then turned on to the West Island Way trail, before reaching the sting in the tail, a 515 feet steep ascent to the summit of Suidhe Chatain.

Shaun, who’s farm lies adjacent to the route, led from start to finish with veteran Steven Campbell clear in second, and John Stevenson in third.

The ladies 5km race made slightly shorter by missing out the moor section of the hill, was highly competitive with Lorna Coyle holding off Marianne McKay who had closed the gap on the hill, and Nicola Stevenson close behind.

The 3.5km race which detoured the hill was the closest of the day, had just 2 seconds separating Ewan Ferguson, Cameron Patton and Jude Dolan. Ewan snatching the win on the line. Richard Hodelet in his first championship race of the season was next to finish.

The youngsters 1km run on fields around the farm was the final race, and again it was the ever impressive Aidan McElwee and Maria McCabe who came out on top. Aidan’s 5th win in a row guaranteeing him the overall under 11 championship for the season.

A special thanks to Shaun Lyon and his family for hosting the race and providing refreshments in the beautiful setting looking onto Kilchattan bay.

1km: Aidan McElwee 3.57, Maria McCabe 4.13, Patrick McCabe 4.29, Leah Knox 4.46, Erin McEleny 4.48, Aimee McEleny 5.44, Stella McCabe 6.31, Zak Dolan 7.16, Connie Dolan 8.15

3.5km: Ewan Ferguson 14.11, Cameron Patton 14.11, Jude Dolan 14.12, Richard Hodelet 22.28, Beth McKenna 22.29, Ruby McGill 22.34

5km: Lorna Coyle 25.19, Marianne McKay 25.47, Nicola Stevenson 26.21, Lyndsey Mooney 28.17, Jane Dolan 32.38, Aileen Stevenson 32.42.

5.7km: Shaun Lyon 23.39, Steven Campbell 25.50, John Stevenson 26.47, Danny McLaughlin 27.21, Robert Dolan 27.40, Graham McGrattan 28.14, Stephen Hanley 28.40, Alan O’Rourke 29.28, Mick Dunn 29.52, Stephen Reid 31.32, Ryan Brown 31.49, Harry McGill 31.50, Mick Harrington 32.55, Lucas Bezian 36.30, Kenny Scott 37.27, Robert Rideout 40.34.

Singlehurst Race Details

Details for the penultimate race in the GGH 2016/17 Championship


Kingarth Hotel – Start Point for the senior Race

Saturday 8th  July – GGH Singlehurst Trail Race  for ALL Juniors & Seniors at Kingarth, Isle of Bute, new venue this year. 2.00pm: Junior Race 1k/2k :   2.30pm: Senior race 5.7km  Kingarth Race Route

Total Return Fares adult/child (£13/£6.50)

TRAIN (£3.50/£1.75) Drumfrochar 11.31am, Branchton 11.34am arrive Wemyss Bay 11.47am –

FERRY (£6.10/£3.05) Wemyss Bay to Rothesay 12.00pm, arrive 12.35 (*Car £22.00)

BUS     (£3.40/£1.70) Rothesay to Kingarth dep 12.50pm, arrive 13.11pm

Return Buses from Kingarth 15.14/16.14/17.14/18.14= arrive Rothesay 15.35/16.35/17.35/18.35

Return Ferry times: 16.00/16.45/17.30/18.15/19.00/19.45

Marian & Shaun Take Titles

Shaun Lyon and Marian Monk were clear winners at Greenock Glenpark Harriers Cornalees hill race, and in doing so both deservedly secured the club championship title for their first time. Shaun was 2 minutes clear of experienced hill runner Andy McCall, who is showing signs of getting back to full fitness, with Kevin O’Donoghue in third. John Stevenson was fastest veteran with a personal best time for the 5mile route up to the summit cairn above the Cornalees centre.  Marianne McKay and Nicola Stevenson competing in their first hill race performed well to go comfortable under the hour in the windy conditions. The biggest improvement was by Lucas Bezian slashing 18minutes from his time of last year.

Harry McGill was made to work for his win in the junior race by Ewan Ferguson who came within a few strides of causing a surprise defeat for the Largs youngster as they battled each other in the steep climb from Pennyfern to the Cut. Scott Meechan had also put in a strong challenge as he matched the pair, but he faded in the final stretch to the finish and had to settle for 3rd.  Aidan McElwee had another stunning run to win his 4th club race in row in the under 11 category.  Ruby McGill was a clear winner in the girls’ race with sprinter Beth McKenna making a rare appearance away from the track taking second. Leah Knox just had the edge on Maria McCabe for first place in the under 11s.

Thanks to Michael Dunn of C&M coaches our race sponsor, and to all the marshals out on the hillside.

Juniors ½ Mile uphill race: Harry McGill 2.56, Ewan Ferguson 2.59, Scott Meechan 3.17, Cameron Patton 3.25, Aiden McElwee 3.36, Ruby McGill 3.56, Patrick McCabe 4.15, Cameron Crawford 4.29, Struan Robertson 4.43, Beth McKenna 4.44, Leah Knox 4.54, Maria McCabe 4.55, Erin McEleny 5.16, Josh Docherty 5.23, Casey Trainer 5.33,

Seniors 5mile race: Shaun Lyon 36.17, Andrew McCall 38.07, Kevin O’Donoghue 38.42, Daniel Doherty 41.27, John Stevenson 42.32, Robert Dolan 43.00, Alan O’Rourke 44.22, Stephen Hanley 44.54, David Ness 48.25, Danny McLaughlin 48.41, George McCallum 48.54, Marian Monk 50.41, Marianne McKay 53.39, Nicola Stevenson 54.56, Lucas Bezian 56.45, Graeme Crawford 60.11, Simon Hutton 62.33,

Just 3 races to go!!!

There are only 3 races left for Juniors & Seniors in this years GGH club championship; the Cornalees Hill race, Singlehurst trail race and Bill Elder Road race.  Find out where you are placed on the updated championship tables. There is still plenty of points to run for and get your self up the club rankings.   Updated Championship tables  

Last Years overall junior winner

Last Years overall junior winner

GGH Team Success in the Vale

Greenock Glenpark Harriers cleaned up at the Vale of Leven 10k over a hilly course in rain sodden conditions.

In the team competitions Andrew White, Paul Monaghan, and Steven Campbell claimed the men’s prize, with all three placing in the top 10 from almost 600 starters. Not to be outdone, Emma Baxter, Lorna Coyle, and Terri Wall did likewise in the women’s race.

The prizes didn’t stop there as Emma Baxter who has shown good form so far this year also finished 3rd lady overall. Lorna Coyle was 2nd veteran 50 with a time that places her 6th fastest in the country. Andrew White who has been the Harriers leading veteran in recent months placed 3rd in the over 40 category, and finally in the over 60s both Yvonne Prager and Mick Dunn also finished 3rd.

Results: Andrew White 35.37, Paul Monaghan 35.56, Steven Campbell 36.28, Emma Baxter 41.45, Mick Dunn 42.06,  Stephen Reid 43.53, Lorna Coyle 46.41, David Benstead 49.19, Terri Wall 49.47, Claire Monaghan 53.47, Craig Melrose 54.09, Heather Kangley 54.51, Yvonne Prager 57.39