Chisholm Mile 2023

We had whopping turnout on the Esplanade with 93 finishers racing in 1 mile event. In the warm and humid conditions the race was won by Inverclyde AC’s Ross Gray in a time of 4:19. The in-form Nynke Mulholland, also of IAC, smashed the previous ladies course record by 12 seconds in a time of 4:54. Millie McClelland-Brooks also dipped under the previous record held by Cambuslang’s Eve McKinnon since 2015.

First home for the host club was Harry McGill making a welcome return to racing in GGH colours. Fresh from a huge 5km PB in the recent Scottish championships race, Harry was hot favourite to take home the trophy. Hot on his heels was the 2022 winner Dylan Crawford who came flying through the field in the last 400 metres. Dylan was closely followed by Andy McCall who took 3rd place in the club championship race.

It was all to play for in the Harriers ladies race with Jill Cox coming out top in a brilliant time of 5:25. Next across the line was 2022 winner Ruby McGill who was just a few seconds shy her of time from last year. Jennifer Rooney was 3rd female harrier in 6:24.

The Chisholm mile provides a unique opportunity for our youngest athletes to race against the seniors in the club, many of whom usually show their elders up. A total of 22 young runners took on the seniors with some excellent performances. Kyle Johnstone and Millie McLelland-Brooks were the first u17’s home. The U15’s race was won by Cameron Crawford and Summer Taggart. Jonathon Lamont and Nuala Quigley took the honours in the U13’s with Stella McCabe and Elijah Taylor winning the u11’s.

The race would not be possible without our Race Director John Stevenson and the army of volunteers on the night, thank you everyone! Thank you also to Tracey Howe for the excellent race pictures and to Kevin Craig for providing the drone footage.

Huge thanks to our race sponsor Euan Morrison and “The Port Barbers”.


Top 3 finishers
1st Ross Gray – 4:19
2nd Harry McGill – 4:34
3rd Brendan Carey – 4:36

Top 3 Female
1st Nynke Mulholland – 4:54
2nd Millie McLellan-Brooks – 5:04
3rd Jill Cox – 5:25

U17 Winners
Kyle Johnstone – 4:46
Millie McClelland-Brooks – 5:04

U15 Winners
Cameron Crawford – 5:48
Summer Taggart – 6:28

U13 Winners
Jonathon Lamont – 6:25
Nuala Quigley – 6:47

U11 Winners
Stella McCabe – 6:33
Elijah Taylor – 6:34

Full results can be found on he attachment below.

GGH Chisholm Mile 2023 Results