Wilson Trophy 2023

Saturday 18th March saw the 3rd attempt at holding this seasons Wilson Trophy Race.

The 4.5 mile blast around and up and down the Greenock Cut and its surrounding hills usually takes part in mid-December. Treacherous icy conditions meant that it was cancelled then, and again for the same reason for the second attempt in January. The move to March didn’t mean that the 28 Harriers got off lightly in terms of conditions, with heavy rainfall and blustery wind it was pretty wet and boggy underfoot.

A conceding handicap format, the Wilson makes for some exciting pair ups and battles to the finish line. The handicap winner on the day was GGH stalwart Frank McMahon with a great run picking off all challengers. Aiden Coyle had a great run to take 2nd place, Marianne McKay storming round the course to take 3rd place.

The mens scratch winner was no surprise with Dylan Crawford working his way around to the pick up the trophy in the fastest time of the day in 27.51. Daniel Doherty who is coming back into form had an almost PB equalling run of 28.59 to take 2nd place, Neil Lafferty had a solid performance to take 3rd in 29.36.

In the ladies scratch race, Captain Marian Monk led the way in a time of 37.43. In 2nd place Lorna Mitchell didn’t let having a recent ultra in her legs stop her, running a fantastic time time of 38.42. The ever improving Lynne Harrison wasn’t too far behind in 3rd in 39.05. Outstanding running from the top end ladies.

There were a number of notable performances including from juniors – Lewis McCrae in his first senior race coming a very respectable 4th place in a time of of 30.51, and Shaun Wiseman who is getting back to fitness finishing 6th in 32.28, both giving the seniors a run for their money. Another outstanding run from Charlotte McKay as she secured a PB.

Special thanks to our race sponsor Wilson Buses.

A huge thanks to our wonderful volunteers who had the hardest shift of all. Race Director John Stevenson and Cheryl Thomas our new Ladies Vice Captain as Co-Director. Stevie McLoone, Wenda Crawford, Kev Craig, Simon Hutton, James Doherty, Eileen Stevenson, Cameron CW, David Holmes, Eric Lindsay, Paul Monaghan, Fiona Cushnaghan and Marian Monk. Some great photos taken on the day by our volunteers so thanks for those too!

As always, thanks and very well done to the Handicap committee of Marianne McKay, Nathalie Smith and Stephen Reid. A lot of work goes into creating the handicaps and their efforts made for another exciting end to this race.

Results: Dylan Crawford 27:51, Daniel Doherty 28:59, Neil Lafferty 29:36, Lewis McCrae 30:51, Steven Campbell 31:13, Shaun Wiseman 32:28, Matthew Deegan 33:14, Kevin O’Donoghue 33:39, Robert Dolan 33:58, Danny McLaughlin 34:46, Stephen Harrison 34:52, Graeme Boyce 35:38, Ross Morrison 35:52, William Taylor 36:03, Micky Dunn 36:56, John Stevenson 37:25, Marian Monk 37:43, Lorna Mitchell 38:42, Lynne Harrison 39:05, Robin McAuslan 39:57, Marianne McKay 40:58, Frank McMahon 41:11, Stephen Reid 41:16, Aidan Coyle 42:34, Yvonne Prager 47:51, Charlotte McKay 53:52